Earlier today I talked about simple pleasures and taking the time to enjoy those things in life. I mentioned having a meatless Friday due to the Lenten season. What I thought would be a simple recipe turned into something more, but only because it seemed as though the flour to liquid ratio was off a bit. I had this recipe for easy pizza crust tucked into my recipe tin. I’m not sure exactly from where it came. Usually recipes in that tin are from family or coworkers. Note to self: Always write the person’s name on the recipe so you can call with questions if it does not go as planned.

Pizza Crust

1 pkg dry yeast

1 cup warm water

1 tsp sugar

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp salt

2 cups flour (which I had to increase a bit to be able to even start to knead it)

Turn oven to 400 degrees F

Prepare pan. I used cookie sheet type pan.

Dissolve yeast in water and add olive oil, sugar, salt and 2 cups of flour. Mix well. As I mentioned above, I needed to add atleast another 1/2 cup flour. Knead on floured surface for about 5 minutes. Let dough rest while you clean up. Roll dough to fit pan. Place on greased pan and poke with fork. Bake 7 minutes. Top with your favorite topping…We used pizza sauce, cheese and mushrooms. Bake another 7 minutes.

My family members were all in agreement that this pizza crust was most comparable to a sheet pizza crust you would buy in the grocery store. It will do in a pinch with ingredients that most will have handy in their pantry. If you desire the more developed flavor of a pizzeria hand-tossed crust, use a different recipe. All were happy with the results though and gobbled it up. We discussed maybe using half whole wheat flour next time and other toppings that might be nice on a different day of the week such as ham, pineapple and banana peppers, bbq chicken with caramelized onions, or taco pizza.

