While I’ve been healing from this horrid inflammatory eye interruption in my life, I’ve had time to slow down a little. This has given me the opportunity to open my eyes, no pun intended, to simple things that have gotten my attention lately. Often times we get so wrapped up in life, and we are so busy, that we forget to look around and be thankful for the little things.

This morning I awakened to notice the feel of the soft sheets and the warmth of a down comforter. It was nice to linger there for a moment and enjoy those things without immediately springing out of bed as I normally do. I could still catch the slightest scent of Moonlit Path with its hint of lavender that I had sprayed the night before to help calm my restless spirit more easily to sleep.

After making my way downstairs I’m greeted by two fury pups who want to roam around outside. Most dogs are always happy to greet their owners, of course, but it’s always nice to feel needed. As I sit down to blog I find a playful kitty who wants in my lap. He paws at me, staring up with his big green eyes. He settles in and starts to snore softly. I wonder if I’m his silky sheets and down comforter.

As I am thinking about simple things, supper tonight comes to mind. As we have entered the Lenten season we are doing a meat free meal. Homemade pizza is on the menu tonight and I’m rather excited about it. It’s been awhile since I’ve made my own pizza dough. I have a very simple recipe to share and will post that later this evening.

Look around. What do you see?

 

