If you have been following my blog you know what’s been going on around here lately. It’s been an unusually difficult time. These past two weeks I’ve had some special requests for sweets. These are not something I would consider healthful, although they do have some good qualities. Last week we went all out and made Tandycakes. Although I gave some examples to healthify this sweet, we made the classic recipe. This week’s sweet will include walnuts, which have many health benefits including being an excellent source of omega-3 fatty acids. There is nothing healthful about the other ingredients. Both of these recipes are very simple and frugal, using ingredients most of us already have on hand. Next week I have high hopes of getting back into the healthful of things. In the meantime, my husband’s coworkers will be enjoying a treat.

Sticky Buns

2 loaves frozen bread dough (4-5 for a double batch)

Grease pan with butter

Arrange nuts in bottom of pan if using. Tear apart first loaf and put over nuts in pan.

In saucepan:

1 1/2 sticks butter

1 1/2 cups brown sugar

3 tbsp milk

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon (optional)

Larger box of vanilla cook and serve pudding Not Instant!

Melt these ingredients together and pour over bread. Tear apart second loaf and arrange on top. Let raise 2 1/2 to 3 hrs or in a warm oven until doubled.

Here are the stages. Keep in mind that I doubled the ingredients and used 5 loaves of bread dough.

 

 

Bake at 350 degrees F for 30 mins. Let cool slightly then invert onto a serving platter.

I made a double batch to be able to share generously. I used a large aluminum roasting pan that we didn’t need for a party and I inverted onto a very large aluminum foil lined slab of wood that I use for the large cakes I make for parties.

I use a 9″ x 13″ pan for a single batch and invert onto a turkey platter.

