If you’ve been following along you know I recently had iritis, an inflammatory eye condition that kept me away from the computer and some of my favorite endeavors, since the tenth of February. I finally feel like I’m back in the game. Today I plan to start scouring the store flyers for deals and coupon match-ups. If I find any notable ones I’ll be sure to mention them later. We are also preparing for a surgery this week and a birthday party on the weekend. That means you can probably count on Saturday’s sweet to not be much on the healthful side of things. We will make sure there is a healthful option available at the party though, just to balance things out.

Most of my grocery budget went toward stocking up on some fresh vegetables this week. It is going to be a busy week and I want to make sure my beautiful bounty ends up in us instead of the trash. I decided to prepare all of the veg we will use and freeze the rest. Zucchini cakes are on the menu today. I’ll shred all of the zucchini and freeze it for future recipes. You can find two other yummy zucchini recipes here. I’ll clean and steam the green beans, and I’ll heat them in garlic and olive oil on serving day. They are a favorite around here and I know we’ll finish them all. I intend to slightly “candy” the carrots. They require no preprep. I’ll cook them and add a touch of butter and honey on the day that we plan to eat them. I purchased “bagged” lettuces and baby spinach for some quick to put together salads and wraps. Nothing too difficult there. A buy-one-get-one free deal on cauliflower gave me inspiration to make a special treat – cauliflower tots, which I found while searching for some of Suzanne Somers’ recipes. It is her creation, and I believe a substitute for tater tots to use as a side dish with meats when you are “food combining”. I am leery of any diet that restricts any one food; however, I do feel better when I reduce the amount of carbs that I eat and follow the food combining principles. When you food combine you eat fruit by itself, usually first thing in the morning is best. You do this because fruit digests so quickly and piling it on top of protein which digests slowly can interrupt the digestion process. Carbs and proteins are not consumed together because they digest in different ways and the stomach acids compete with each other, again leading to improper digestion. You may eat non-starchy veg with either proteins or carbs. This is the theory and I suppose it is backed by scientific facts. The problem is that no one I ever knew grew up eating this way and it’s hard to teach an old dog new tricks. How you choose to eat is a very individual thing and I say do whatever works best for you and makes you feel your best.

I’m going to get to work on my veggies. Be sure to check back for recipes and photos.

