If you need a quick, decadent dessert or snack that is on the fancy side, strawberries dipped in chocolate are the way to go. You can make these as simple or as fancy as you like. The added bonus is that berries are right up there on the nutrition scale. A bowl of plain strawberries even looks pretty appetizing on its own.

How To

Wash your berries right before using them and dry thoroughly. If your chocolate gets wet it will seize up and you won’t be able to use it. I like to keep my leaves on the berries for a handle when dipping or eating. This is up to you. An easy way to hull the berries, if you go that route, is to push a drinking straw through tip to stem. This works better for small to medium-sized berries. I had a coupon that I used to buy my berries. They are organic and beautiful. I was able to use every strawberry in the package.

You can melt your chocolate of choice in a double boiler or in the microwave. Follow the instructions on the package of the chocolate you choose. Low and slow is the way to go. If you scorch your chocolate it will be useless. Microwave in a clean, dry bowl for no more than 30 seconds at a time and stir in between. I choose dark chocolate because it contains more antioxidants. I also make a few white chocolate dipped for my white chocolate lover of a husband. I feel it’s important to choose the best quality chocolate that you can find. That is up to you. I always search for coupons and sales.

Dip your perfectly dry strawberry and place on wax paper or another nonstick surface. You can let this dry and add decorations too, such as drizzling a white chocolate design on top of the dark chocolate. You could also sprinkle the still wet berry with chopped nuts or coconut.

Please excuse the glare from the white chocolate. Another photograph was impossible as the strawberries disappeared just that quickly and there’s nothing wrong with that…

