If you’re trying to cut down on carbs give this recipe to try. A while back I tried food combining as a way to try to make weight loss easier. It was such a big change all at once for me that it just didn’t stick. We couldn’t get into the habit of it no matter how much we tried. Yet another reason I am for small changes in diet. I feel the more gradual the change, the easier it becomes a part of your life. You can read more about what I learned about the concept of food combining here. This is a delicious recipe and I’m glad I found it.

Cauliflower “Tater” Tots

1 lb bag frozen cauliflower florets (I used fresh steamed)

2 Tbsp water

4 Tbsp butter, softened

2 large egg yolks

1 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Salt and Pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Place the cauliflower and water in a 2 quart bowl. Cover with plastic wrap and microwave for around 8 minutes on high or until soft. Drain the cauliflower and put it in a food processor. Add the other ingredients and process until smooth. I used a resealable plastic bag to pipe the mixture onto a greased cookie sheet. Bake for 15 – 20 minutes or until browned.

If you make these ahead and freeze before baking they keep their shape a little better but taste great either way. I made a double batch and froze some to make another day.

I like to call them cauliflower “puffs” because they are, well puffy, and not dense like tater tots. Other bonuses, besides the taste, are it’s a serving of veg and you know exactly what goes into them.

