Here in north central Pennsylvania we’re in the midst of a ten day stretch of beautiful weather. It’s near or a little over 70 during the day and in the 50’s overnight. We’ve also been experiencing mostly sunshine and only a few days of clouds and gentle rain. I look outside and it’s really greening up out there. Spring is officially here and I have the fever to plant something, anything.

While I was in the garden planning stage and scoping out some seeds I stumbled upon a sweet little herb garden kit. There is a small herb garden outside of my kitchen window. Chives and Greek oregano come back every year. Sometimes if we have a mild winter they don’t ever completely disappear, although it might help that there is the heat of a dryer vent nearby. Sweet basil and parsley are also planted, but are annuals. I’ve been wanting to plant cilantro and dill and this will be the year, cilantro from the kit and a promise of dill from my dad.

Today the kit is coming out and fresh herbs here we come. I believe this kit was meant to be kept on the windowsill year round, but I plan to transplant the herbs into my herb garden when it gets warm enough as my cats like to home in on anything green that might be around. I’d hate to think of their nighttime visits helping themselves to my herbs and all of their death-defying acrobats they would perform trying to reach them.

Have you noticed what herbs cost at the store? If you add up what you spend in a year I’m sure you’d see just how economical it is to grow your own. If you don’t have the space outside and an indoor plan isn’t an option either due to space or curious cats, there are other frugal options. Try buying in bulk from a local farmers market in season and drying and freezing for use year round. Frozen herbs are just like fresh when added to cooked recipes. Freezing makes chopping easier too. Just wash, dry and freeze your herbs in bunches. When you need some, pull some off and put the rest back into the freezer. You can dry herbs at a low oven temp if you don’t have a dehydrator. Dry, cool, and package your herbs in clean dry bottles.

This kit looks really easy to use. You add water, plant, and place in a sunny spot.

We’ll see how it works out. You’ll be able to follow the progress as I’ll post periodically how the plants are coming along.

