Just over a week’s worth of days and I feel I have accomlished so much getting my home in tip top shape by following Money Saving Mom and her 4 Weeks to a More Organized Home challenge.

Assignments for Day 8

  • Get dressed in something that makes you feel great.

I have my Navy mom t-shirt on today. It always makes me feel proud to wear it to represent the United States Navy and think of my daughter who sent it to me for my birthday.

  • Sit down with a cup of coffee or tea and write down 5 – 7 goals you would like to accomplish today.

There are a few personal goals on the top of my list today, along with organizing my dresser drawers and disinfecting all of the door knobs in the house. I may even tackle the phones and remote controls while I have that particular cleaning supplies out.

  • Complete your morning routine.

Done! Including wiping up some muddy puppy paw prints off of the kitchen floor.

  • Set a timer for 15 minutes and go through your dresser drawers. Remove items you no longer love, need and/or wear. Quickly organize the remaining items.

Only two things were discarded, a ratty old slip and an old pair of stockings that will be great to use in the garden this year, to tie up plants.

  • Wipe down all of the door handles in your home. You can use a damp rag with a little disinfectant on it or a cleaning wipe. If you have younger children they probably would enjoy helping you tackle this project.

This is the main item Money Saving Mom recommends to accomplish for the challenge today and that is why it is in bold type.

Most people go about their day to day living and forget how germy simple things like a door knob can get. This makes me wonder just how often a task like this should be done.

  • Find 7 items to get rid of today.

It was fair to include the one item I discarded during the 15 minute drawer clean out. Wasn’t it? Three old pairs of shoes and t-shirts later from the closet equals seven.

