Excited to get going this morning with Money Saving Mom and her 4 Weeks to a More Organized Home challenge!

Day 9 Assignments

  • Get dressed in something that makes you feel great.

Jeans and sneakers again today, along with a t-shirt and hoodie. This has become my typical uniform and it’s fine with me. I’m ready to run out the door when it’s time for my walk and getting that walk in definitely makes me feel good about myself.

Yesterday I was a “no-show” for my walk because of the weather. We experienced sleet and graupel, aka soft hail or snow pellets. It was weird and now I wish I would have gotten a picture. It was just strange large sleet to me until my mom mentioned she saw the weather forecast and the weatherman called it graupel. It’s the vocabulary word of the day.

  • Sit down with a cup of coffee or tea and write down today’s goals.

Calm yourself, focus, and write the list…

  1. One load of laundry
  2. Walk 45 minutes
  3. Clean all of the light switch plates in the house
  4. Balance checkbook/pay a few bills
  5. Visit with son and daughter-in-law and give them Easter presents
  • Complete your morning routine.

It’s always interesting to me to see what others do for their morning routine to see if I can improve mine or glean any new ideas. With that in mind I’m recapping my own, just in case anyone would like to know.

  1. Rise
  2. Shower
  3. Make up and hair
  4. Tidy bathroom vanity and commode
  5. Dress
  6. Tend to cats and dogs
  7. Dishes
  8. Any other household chore that immediately catches my attention or needs dealt with.
  • Set a timer for 15 minutes and do a quick clean of your bathroom.

The bathroom floor was recently mopped and I do a quick tidy as part of my morning routine. Today I think I can get the tub scrubbed and the shower caddy done in 15 minutes.

Speaking of the shower caddy… They just don’t make things like they used to. We are limited in our choice for a caddy because I opted to keep the old fashioned, deep, claw foot tub that came with the house. We mostly take showers so it was interesting setting up to be able to do that and take the occasional soak in the wonderful tub. Instead of pitching the caddy when it rusts, we refinish it. If you are lucky enough to have access to a sand blaster like my husband does, that’s great, but you can also accomplish the same task with sand paper. Remove the rust. Paint with some “rust proof” paint and you have a new caddy. We’ve taken it one step further this year and put a coat of glossy finish over the paint. This should make it last even longer. It only costs maybe a few dollars and just a little time.

You may have to click on the pictures and enlarge to see the detail, aka rust, or the lack thereof.

  • Clean your light switch plates. You can use a damp rag with a little disinfectant on it or a cleaning wipe. If you have younger children they would probably enjoy joining you in tackling this project.

That chore didn’t even take 10 minutes. I could barely even call it a chore. Inspiration followed, however, as I washed curtains, two mini blinds and two windows. Sometimes if you start cleaning you gain momentum and continue.

When we moved into this house we had to practically redo the entire inside, walls, floors, some plumbing and electrical, etc. This being our first home that we owned we really wanted to do it right. Money was tight and most of our “remodeling money” went towards necessary repairs. I had planned to stencil an extensive border along the walls in the living room. I happen to love Morning Glories and their perky greeting on a summer’s morn. It never happened. We were too caught up in the rest of the painting, floor installation, ect. By the time we got done with what had to be done I think we were too tired to do what we wanted to get done. There is always someday though, and I at least have my switch plates to remind me of that dream.

If you also note the temperature on my thermostat, you will see yet another plus of getting things done around the house. I was perfectly warm and comfortable when I shot the picture, from all of the exercise of getting things done. I never noticed that I had forgotten to turn up the thermostat.

  • Find 7 items to get rid of today.

Going room to room today tackling the light switch plates gave me the opportunity to scan each room for something we really no longer need. This is what I found…

