A clean, organized home is within reach if you follow along like I am with Money Saving Mom and her 4 Weeks to a More Organized Home challenge!

Day 12 Assignments

  • Get dressed in something that makes you feel great.

Yesterday I put on a pair of shorts and they were almost falling off all day because of weight loss. I haven’t been on the scale for a while but loose fitting clothing is a sure indication. Going through my closet this morning I found a pair that fit and a few more that were snug but that I’m holding onto because this is a trend that will continue.

  • Sit down with a cup of coffee or tea and write down today’s goals.

What do you need to get done today? I’m going to be sure to do the following before the sun sets…

  1. Finish two loads of laundry
  2. Walk 45 minutes
  3. Clean microwave, stove top and oven
  4. Vacuum and mop downstairs area
  5. Remember to apply flea and tick preparation to dogs and cats
  • Complete your morning routine.

My morning routine

  1. Rise
  2. Shower
  3. Make up and hair
  4. Tidy bathroom vanity and commode
  5. Dress
  6. Tend to cats and dogs
  7. Breakfast
  8. Dishes
  9. Any other household chore that immediately catches my attention or needs dealt with.
  • Set a timer for 15 minutes and vacuum the main living areas of your home.

This was actually done before I read today’s assignments. I’ll vacuum the furniture instead.

  • Clean your microwave, stove top, and/or oven.

My mom and dad recently remodled their kitchen and graciously gave us their stove. Our old oven element had just burned out so it was perfect timing. I find it easier to clean than the old pan under the burner stove that I had before. You have to be more careful when using the smooth glass cooktops though so you do not scratch the them.

It’s probably tough to see because of the glare, but there is something on the left front burner. I’m not the only one who cooks. It is very light and difficult to see, but probably a good idea to educate my teenager that such residue would get more difficult to remove in the future if that particular burner is used before it is cleaned properly.

The oven wasn’t too bad…

After much scrubbing of the oven glass, I came to the conclusion that some of the baked on spatter might be better dealt with when I run the oven cleaning cycle. Not having done that yet I will be sure to ask my mom for a tutorial tomorrow night. Anyway, the glass is as clean as it can get at this time and the oven was wiped clean of any lingering particles.

  • Find 7 items to get rid of today.

Where are you in your journey of home organization and cleaning?

