Excited to get going this morning with Money Saving Mom and her 4 Weeks to a More Organized Home challenge!

Day 19 Assignments

  • Get dressed in something that makes you feel great.
  • Sit down with a cup of coffee or tea and write down today’s goals.

The goals of the day are to walk/exercise for 45 minutes, wipe down my windowsills, do two loads of laundry, dust and reorganize our computer stand, and tackle my email that I have let slide this week.

  • Complete your morning routine.
  • Set the timer for 15 minutes and wipe down your windowsills and trim around your windows (if you didn’t wipe these when we wiped down the baseboards earlier this month).
  • Clean your windows and blinds and/or window treatments. If you want to get really ambitious, you can take the screens off (if you have screens) and clean the outside of your windows. Or, you can just use window cleaner and clean your windows on the inside. Dust or wash your blinds. Remove any washable window treatments and launder them.

Having close to 20 windows in my house I’m thinking this task may be too much to undertake and complete in only one day. I have mini blinds and would have to unscrew all of the little screws that hold them in place in order to take them down. I also have a few “complicated” widow treatments that would take more than a couple of hours to iron. I will share a tip though. If today were warm and sunny I could take all of my mini blinds down, fill up my outside tub with sudsy water, dunk the blinds, wipe them down, hang them on the fence and hose them off, let them hang there to dry, and then put them back up. That would be doable in a day, but it is cold, windy, and may shower here today. One bright sunny day here in the future we’ll make that a family project.

Instead of taking on a huge project today I’ll just wipe the sills.  I already tackled my dirtiest windows two weeks ago, which were in my stairwell and hallway.

See the gloom. It’s a dreary day for sure.

Note to self:  Opt for more simple curtains, or at least ones that aren’t lacy, on the next window treatment shopping trip. 😉

  • Find 7 items to get rid of today.

I’ve had these tea bags hanging around for a while now. I even sat them in the middle of the table to get me to remember to use them and for some reason I haven’t. Does anyone know how long they will remain good enough to use? They are completely sealed and are herbal blends.

