Looking for meatless meal options? Here is a yummy, satisfying meal in a bowl that’s easy on the pocketbook.

Be sure to visit Life as Mom’s Ultimate Recipe Swap for more recipe ideas.

Creamy Potato Soup

3 Tbsp butter

1 onion, diced

4 large potatoes, chopped

3 Tbsp parsley chopped

3 stalks celery with leaves, chopped

2 large carrots, chopped or grated

1 tsp salt

1/4 tsp paprika

1 1/2 c boiling water (Sometimes I use veggie broth or bouillon and then omit the salt)

white sauce (below)

Saute onion in butter until tender. Add remaining ingredients except white sauce and cook until vegetables are tender. Add white sauce and stir until blended and heated. I add the parsley at the end so it stays bright green. I also added some chives this time. Dill goes well with potatoes too. Makes 6 servings

White Sauce

4 Tbsp butter

2 Tbsp flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

4 cups milk

Melt butter. Stir in flour and seasonings. When smooth, add milk and stir constantly until thickened.

I don’t think it would hurt this soup if you saute the onion in olive oil. Seven Tbsp of butter seems a little much for me, but this is one of those old farm/depression era recipes when they had a plentiful supply of milk and butter. I use 1% milk and it turns out just fine.

Homemade Croutons

Cut your bread or rolls into chunks and “fry” in olive oil in a frying pan toasting the bread lightly. Sprinkle with seasoning of your choice. I like garlic powder and an Italian herb blend. I used dill today. You may toast them more in the oven or quickly under the broiler if you like more crunch. You could also lightly and evenly spray your bread cubes with olive oil. I used tongs to flip the cubes around in the pan. Very easy, quick and delicious.

