Meatballs are yummy little pains in the rump to make, but you can make up a ton at a time and tuck them away in the freezer. You only have one mess and you can clean that up while they are in the oven. Yes. I mass produce my meatballs and can fit 25 or more of them on a pan to bake in the oven, depending on their size. For the last 10 years I’ve made at least 50 meatballs for my daughters’ birthday party. I skipped a year and noticed that I had some pretty disappointed guests. That’s how I knew. Wow! These must be pretty good meatballs.

Italian Meatballs (makes 20 smaller sized meatballs)

1 1/2 lbs meatloaf mixture (ground beef, pork and veal)

1 cup fresh bread crumbs

1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

1/2 large onion chopped

2 cloves garlic minced

1 egg

1/4 cup fresh parsley chopped

1 tsp dry Italian herb blend

Mix well. Form into balls. Place on nonstick foil-lined pan for easy cleanup. Bake at 350 degrees F for 20-30 minutes depending on size. Most times I under cook and finish cooking the meatballs in the sauce. This improves the flavor of the meatball and the sauce.

Cool, portion, bag and freeze. I packaged up six to eight meatballs per meal and put them all in a zip top bag. We only have a family of three right now, so this would be two to three meatballs per person for supper. I realize this may seem skimpy to some, but with a nice bowl of pasta and a large salad it will make a filling meal. Keep in mind that technically we are only to consume 3 ounces of meat at a time or a portion that is the size of a deck of cards.

BBQ Meatballs

This recipe is similar to Money Saving Mom’s 4 Weeks to Fill your Freezer series recipe. I needed to omit the chili powder as my daughter seems to have digestion problems when eating Mexican spices. Also, I cooked the meatballs before freezing.

1 egg, lightly beaten

1 cup milk

1/2 cup quick-cooking oats

1/2 cup dry bread crumbs

1/2 cup finely chopped onion

1 teaspoon BBQ seasoning

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1-1/2 pounds meatloaf mixture (ground beef, pork, and veal)

Shape into meatballs. Place on nonstick foil lined pan and bake at 350 degrees F for 20 minutes. I rolled these meatballs smaller than my Italian meatballs. Notice that I used the same foil-lined pan because the Italian meatballs had just come out of the oven.

Cool meatballs, portion and freeze. I wrapped 10 meatballs per meal.

Sauce:

1 cup ketchup

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

1/4 cup chopped onion

1/2 teaspoon Liquid Smoke, optional

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

Heat sauce in saucepan and pour over meatballs. I might just place the meatballs in the sauce and heat after thawing them in the frig. I’d serve this over rice.

What are your experiences with freezing meatballs?

