Over here at the Frugal and Healthful house we’re still trying to fill the freezer with Money Saving Mom and her 4 Weeks To Fill Your Freezer Series.  On Friday I  intended to get a double batch of pizza dough into the freezer with one batch kept out to make a BBQ chicken and caramelized onion pizza on the grill. The grill ran out of gas so my plans switched to making the pizza in the oven.

Then I noticed I ran out of yeast. I was sure I had some left. I intended to stop at the store to pick some up but we didn’t want to be late for the movie we were on our way to see and the store looked really crowded. (The movie was Battleship and if you enjoy a good sci-fi action flick, I highly recommend it.) After the movie we were hungry and decided to just go home and pull something out of the freezer that was already made. After all, Saturday was another day and I would be able to buy the yeast and catch up.

On Saturday we stopped at Target to pick up a few coupon deals and I grabbed the yeast lest I forget it at the grocery store. When we were doing our grocery shopping I noticed what a great deal I got on the yeast at Target. We arrived at home and put everything away. Husband went outside to mow and I started getting things around to make the pizza dough. No yeast! The yeast was nowhere to be found. I looked high and low twice and husband checked the car. I guess it wasn’t meant to be, but cheese-stuffed chicken breasts made it all better.

With a little assembly line prep you can have dozens of these beauties in the freezer waiting to be baked on a day when you crave extra special chicken breasts, but just don’t have the time.

You will need:

Boneless, skinless chicken breasts

Butter for dipping

Breadcrumbs, whichever kind you like

Seasoning you desire for breadcrumbs

Blocks, strips or chunks of cheese to stuff your chicken breasts (You can always cut to fit, stack, etc.)

Pour some bread crumbs into a shallow but wide dish (I used Panko) and stir in some seasonings (I used Parmesan cheese and garlic powder) to taste.

I like to pound my chicken breasts. It helps them to cook more evenly and makes the easy to wrap around the cheese. Melt some butter in a pan on the stove and dip both sides of your pounded chicken breasts into the butter. Then place in the bread crumbs.

Place a long, thick strip of your cheese of choice in the center the chicken breast. I chose Provolone this time. There are almost endless possibilities. At this point you may secure your little package with toothpicks. I find this is not necessary if your chicken breast is large enough and pounded thin enough.

Place your prepared chicken breasts in zip top bags, label and into the freezer they go.

To bake:

Thaw in frig overnight or microwave for a few minutes, place in a baking dish and bake at 375 for around 30 minutes, depending on the size of your chicken breasts. While they are baking you have time to make a side dish and a salad.

Another of our favorite combinations is southwest seasonings with Monterey Jack cheese.

What are some of your freezer cooking experiences, good or bad?

