It’s husband’s birthday weekend and this is one of his absolute favorite desserts. We will be at a family picnic as well, and what a yummy treat to share. You may remember this recipe from a previous Sweet Saturday. If you’re going to repeat anything, this is definitely something worth repeating!

Again I already had everything in my pantry to make this recipe, except the chocolate, which was an added bonus on the frugality side of things.

To ‘healthify’ the recipe somewhat, I would use all natural or homemade peanut butter and dark chocolate.

Mix together:

2 cups sugar

2 cups flour

2 tsp baking powder

pinch of salt

2 tsp melted butter

1 cup milk

4 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

Spread into a greased and floured jelly roll pan, sheet pan, or a large cookie sheet.

Bake at 350 degrees F for 15-20 mins.

Let cool slightly and spread with peanut butter. The recipe calls for a cup but I believe I used a little more.

I refrigerated it at this point to get the peanut butter to the point where I could spread the chocolate.

Melt 8 ounces of milk chocolate by whichever method you prefer. I used the microwave and started at 1 minute then needed two more 30 second increments, stirring after each. I also used about 10.5 ounces of chocolate and it seemed to be just enough.

This is important! Cut the bars now while everything is still warm and then refrigerate.  It’s going to be a hot one this weekend and everything is going to get melted very quickly so my advice would be to eat dessert first. 😉 Yum!