Yesterday we enjoyed our first fresh produce of the garden. It wasn’t out of my garden, but my dad shared three lovely zucchini from his. As his garden plants were in a good two or three weeks before mine, I’m getting pretty excited about what I’ll be harvesting in a few weeks.

To celebrate I made one of our favorite summer recipes.

Zucchini Cakes

2 cups grated zucchini

2 beaten eggs

1/3 cup Bisquick baking mix (I used the heart-healthy version)

1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1 tsp onion powder

salt and pepper to taste

Olive oil

Combine all but the oil. Let the mixture set for a few minutes. Fry 2 inch pancakes in olive oil. Let these get good and brown on one side before flipping or they will fall apart. This is the original recipe but I used fresh grated onion this time instead of the onion power. I also used some chives and oregano fresh from the herb garden.

