A half box of bite-sized wheat and bran biscuits were left sitting on my pantry shelf. I purchased the box with a coupon which made it cost around $.75. At the time I was growing bored with the oatmeal and cream of buckwheat that I usually eat for breakfast. It has also been very warm and I was looking for a cooler breakfast option, without having to pull out the blender for smoothies, just wasn’t in the mood for them either.

Whenever we grow tired of something I look for a way to turn it into something more exciting, as opposed to wasting, because that is just a no no around here.

A picture of the bars happened to be on the back of the cereal box, so I went to the website to get the recipe.

The original recipe with my alterations:

1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1/2 cup light corn syrup (I used half honey and half corn syrup.)

1/2 cup peanut butter

3 cups Post Spoon Size Shredded Wheat, coarsely crushed

3/4 cup raisins (I used craisins.)

1/2 cup chopped dry roasted unsalted peanuts (I used honey roasted peanuts and left them whole.)

Mix sugar, syrup and peanut butter in a 2-quart microwavable bowl. Microwave on high 1 to 1-1/2 minutes or until bubbly around the edge; stir until well blended. Add cereal, raisins and peanuts; mix well. Press firmly into greased 8-inch square pan; cool. Cut into 24 bars. Store in an airtight container at room temperature.

Don’t forget to click on the photo for a yummy close up.

