With our busy yard sale weekend and the heat of late, a simple no-bake recipe seemed in order. If you are looking for healthful you may want to look elsewhere today because I’m pretty sure the oatmeal in this recipe does not cancel out the naughtiness of these cookies.

Chocolate Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies

1 stick butter

2 cups sugar

1/2 cup baking cocoa

1/2 cup milk

Bring the above to a boil stirring often. Allow to boil for 2 minutes. Stir in..

3 cups oatmeal and 1 cup peanut butter and a tsp of vanilla.

Quickly stir and drop by tablespoons on wax paper.

Cook and store in an airtight container.

We make these once or twice a year, once being during the holidays. About every fourth or fifth time my cookies refuse to set up. This was one of those times. They are still good, just a little gooey. I didn’t hear any complaining though.

Does this ever happen to anyone else and does anyone know what causes it? I’m only speculating but you have to allow your mixture to boil for a while. I wonder if it has something to do with temperature, candy making, ect, or maybe humidity? I’d love for you to share your knowledge.

