This is a simple apple pie recipe. You may certainly make alterations to healthify it as using butter instead of shortening for the crust or an alternate crust recipe altogether. Using less sugar is also an option to make this a little more healthful.  I do not alter the recipe for the crust because it is so simply good and foolproof.

Double crust

2 c all purpose flour

1 tsp salt

3/4 c shortening

1/4 c very cold water (I put my water in the freezer when I begin to make the crust.)

Filling

6 large cooking apples (I like to use a combination for better flavor.)

3/4 cup sugar (This really depends on how tart your apples are. I’ve used 1/4 and sweeter apples.)

2 Tbsp flour

1 tsp cinnamon

1 Tbsp butter

Combine flour and salt. Cut in shortening until mixture is uniform.

Sprinkle with water and toss lightly with a fork.

Work dough into a firm ball.

Divide ball into two parts and press into flat circles on a lightly floured surface or pastry cloth.

Roll bottom crust 1/8 inch thick and 1 1/2 inches larger than an inverted pie plate.

Pick dough up around rolling pin and place in pie plate. Trim dough using kitchen shears. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Fill with apples combined with flour and cinnamon. Dot with butter. Top with top crust, decorate, and/or at least make sure there are slits to vent. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until crust is starting to brown and apples are tender.

I had extra apples cut up so I made some mini apple crisps. I combined flour, brown sugar, white sugar and butter, which I sprinkled on top of apple chunks mixed with cinnamon and sugar. Use rolled oats in addition to or in place of flour to healthify. Extra dough was used to make a few heart crusts for decoration.

