I’m finding myself at the end of this pantry challenge hosted by Jessica of Good Cheap Eats. I have to say that I’m ready to be done with it. Searching for sales is a passion of mine, and although I did a little during this challenge, I didn’t accomplish what I usually do. It was a nice break from major coupon clipping, organizing and shopping though, and did save us some money.

Here’s our menu for this last week…

Sunday – Stuffed pork chops, mashed potatoes, gravy, peas

Stuffed Pork Chops

Stuffed Pork Chops

Monday – Panko, Parmesan, and Italian seasoned baked chicken breasts with olive oil and garlic couscous and Brussels sprouts.

Panko, Parmesan crusted chicken breast

Panko, Parmesan crusted chicken breast

Tuesday – Cube steak “cheese steak” sandwiches, oven fries – regular and sweet potato

This is my aunt’s idea and very delicious.

cube steak cheese steak

cube steak cheese steak

Wednesday – oven baked fish, potatoes, salad

Thursday – Impossibly Easy Cheeseburger Pies, pickles, wedge salad

My daughter and future son-in-law made this special supper for us. They love to cook together and he feels it creates more of a bond than just going out to eat for a “date night”. I think it’s absolutely wonderful. I used the last of the pretty, colorful bell peppers on our salad as we did not have any tomatoes.

Cheeseburger pies

Cheeseburger pies

Friday – Old Country Buffet with extended family

As we had to head north anyway to drop future son-in-law off at college  we figured we’d head north another half hour and enjoy a family outing. My bonus son (a.k.a step son, but we never use that particular title) has been inquiring when we might visit that particular restaurant again. We used to take road trips and take the children there once in a while when they were young. It’s nice to know that they enjoyed it and look forward to those family outings.

Saturday – Tatertot Casserole, broccoli

Next month will be a month of soups. I don’t plan on having soup at every single supper meal, but, we will be enjoying soup three to four days a week with a few meatless soup meals planned in as Ash Wednesday is on February 13 and will be the beginning of the Lenten season.